Advertise Now
  Home > Travel New York > New York Cities > Aurora (T)

Aurora (T)

New York is a state in the northeastern United States. It is called New York State when there is need to distinguish it from New York City. Because a significant majority of the population is concentrated in the southern portion around New York City, the state is often regionalized into Upstate and Downstate. New York is the home of Ellis Island, where many immigrants in the early 20th century arrived in the United States.
Aurora is a town in Erie County, New York, USA. The population was 13,996 at the 2000 census. The town of Aurora is one of the south towns of Erie County and is also erroneously called East Aurora, the name of its principal village. The town is centrally located in the county, southeast of Buffalo, New York.
The town was created in 1818 from the town of Willink. Willink once contained all the southern part of Erie County. By a close vote, citizens voted to change the name to Aurora in a display of their growing dissatisfaction with the Holland Land Company and its stockholders, which included Wilheim Willink. According to the United States Census Bureau, the town has a total area of 94.2 square kilometers.
Aurora is definitely one of the popular tourist attractions in New York worth paying a visit while touring the country. This place leaves a pleasing and unforgettable memory and justifies the proud cultural tradition of New York.

Back to New York Cities