Advertise Now
  Home > Travel New York > New York Cities > Oswego    (T)

Oswego    (T)

New York is a state in the northeastern United States. Majority of the population is concentrated in the southern portion around New York City, the state is often regionalized into Upstate and Downstate. New York is the home of Ellis Island, where many immigrants in the early 20th century arrived in the United States.
Oswego County is a county located in the U.S. state of New York. As of 2000, the population was 122,377. Two cities serve as the county seats Oswego and Pulaski. The county name is from the Iroquois word meaning the outpouring, referring to the mouth of the Oswego River.
The town was first settled around 1797. The town of Oswego was established in 1818 from the town of Hannibal and is on the western border of the county. Part of the town was annexed by the town of Granby in 1836. The incorporation of the village of Oswego as the city of Oswego in 1848 removed a portion of the town. Later, the formation of the Town of Minetto reduced Oswego further. The Oswego County legislature has 25 members, elected from equal population districts, reduced from 36 in 1993.
Oswego County is in northwestern New York State, just north of Syracuse and northwest of Utica, on the eastern shore of Lake Ontario. Part of the Tug Hill Plateau is in the eastern part of the county. According to the U.S. Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 3,399 square kilometers and 2,469 square kilometers of it is land and 929 square kilometers of it is water.
Today, one can also learn about its history, from its earliest times and gain enthusiasm in its natural beauty and populace. Oswego enjoys a very positive reputation with worldwide travelers.

Back to New York Cities